Multitask? In class? Talk about easy

I am currently in my Wednesday 12:30 class, Global Connections. My professor is incredibly monotone and is very repetitive. So, I am writing my blog assignment so I don’t have to do it later. I have my phone out which has pictures of the book, my laptop on and I’m still managing to listen about Syria and their internal conflicts. Personally, I think I’m doing a pretty good job. Reading “The Myth of Multitasking” in this chapter, I realize I’m not actually multi-tasking. I’m thinking and writing this blog post- stopping- to listen to her drone on and on- stopping- and then going back to the article. Our brain is actually just moving quickly from one thing to another.

My senior year of high school I was physically unable to get out of bed, barely able to make it to my bathroom for about 5 weeks. My Crohn’s had taken a very serious turn for the worst. In my high school, we weren’t allowed to have our laptops, tablets or phones out unless instructed.  I had emailed my guidance counselor about my concern about falling behind and not being able to graduate. She reached out to our school’s vice principal and came to an agreement that would help me. My classes each created google documents as a class and every class a group of friends would take notes for me. I cannot imagine how I would be able to hand write and copy notes as well as comprehend them/ complete projects/quizzes/tests etc.

On the last page of this chapter, Turkle talks to someone called Zvi who talks about how he would rather email someone than go to their office during set hours. I would have to agree with this feeling. I usually feel more able to say what I want to over an email rather than in person because I can’t delete and edit what I say. When I had to text my old boss about nannying I would ask my mom if what I had wrote in response was okay or if I needed to tweak it because I felt like I may have said something and the tone wouldn’t come across professional. I think that is the only problem with emailing/ texting/ social media communication. As we read in the articles from “Think Rhetorically” that tone can easily be perceived differently from person to person so you have to be very cautious.

Leave a Reply

